CMP Exam Content

The CMP Program and exam is based on the CMP International Standards (CMP-IS). All exam items (questions) relate to this body of knowledge. Those considering CMP certification should begin by reviewing the CMP-IS and assess your level of knowledge and skills outlined in the CMP-IS.

The CMP-IS is comprised of 10 domains:

  1. Strategic Planning
  2. Project Management
  3. Risk Management
  4. Financial Management
  5. Human Resources
  6. Stakeholder Management
  7. Meeting or Event Design
  8. Site Management
  9. Marketing
  10. Professionalism
Those who are successful in obtaining the CMP designation have demonstrated mastery of the 10 domains.

The CMP-IS was developed and is updated by subject matter experts who already hold the CMP designation and are working in the field. The CMP-IS is updated every five years to ensure that the exam reflects the current knowledge needed to be a successful meeting professional.

Download the CMP International Standards


Those applying for the CMP designation should start by reviewing the CMP International Standards and then focus their study program on the domains in which they have the least experience.